LibGuides: Nursing and Allied Health: Library Resources

Using the Library Catalog

Using the Library Multi-Search - For Nursing Students
Here is a step-by-step guide to get you started conducting research using the library's online catalog.

Health & Medical Databases

Here are some specialized databases that can help with research on medical and health topics. Each database has a description that will help you decide if it will be helpful for your topic. Try several different databases to make sure you find the best possible information.

Merck Manual Professional This link opens in a new window
The Merck Manual Professional contains symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment in all fields of medicine and contains detailed medical information for health care professionals and students. The Merck Manual Professional is the product of collaboration between hundreds of medical experts worldwide, an independent editorial board of peer reviewers, and our editorial staff of physicians and professional medical writers.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Premier database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.
Health & Wellness Resource Center Including Alt Health This link opens in a new window
This rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more.
http://www.gale.com/c/health-and-wellness-resource-center
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the core literature in the field of public health.
Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.
MedLine Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles and information from leading medical resources
Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations from medical magazines and journals
Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.
Stat!Ref: Medical This link opens in a new window
Electronic Medical Textbooks
You can create your own account to access these books from home, if you access first from any on-campus location.

Nursing eBooks

Nursing eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to current eBooks across many nursing topics including: Nursing Research & Theory; Evidence-based Nursing; Pharmacology; Home Care Nursing; Nursing Management; and Leadership.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
BRCC's collection of eBooks from R2 Digital Library. The R2 Digital Library is a web based database available from Rittenhouse Book Distributors.
Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.

R2 Digital Library - Quick Guide
Here is a quick guide for accessing eBooks on the R2 Digital Library Database

Nursing and Allied Health

CINAHL Quick Search

Search the Digital Collection

Online Chat!

Contact the Library

Library News

Using the Library Catalog

Health & Medical Databases

Nursing eBooks