LibGuides: Art Appreciation: Online Resources

Movies

Blurred Lines
Bary Avrich's documentary lifts the curtain on the provocative contemporary art scene, a glamorous and cutthroat game of genius versus commerce. Go behind the scenes to discover how art is created, exhibited, and sold around the globe.

Magazines and library databases which include Art images and art history information:

ArtNC
An educational resource from the North Carolina Museum of Art. Explore works of art that are teachable across disciplines and grade levels. Includes lesson plans, concept maps and portfolios.
Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.
Credo Reference

Credo’s Academic Core collection is a full-text database of reference ebooks, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri, handbooks, readers’ guides, atlases, primary source materials, and image and video collections, selected for academic researchers. With over six hundred titles covering the primary disciplines of Higher Education, Academic Core provides students with the reference tools they need to perform research at any level of study.
Films on Demand

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

Art in America Magazine
Features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.
The Art Story
Encompasses the history of visual art: from the classical though the contemporary, providing an overview of single artists and movements, while combining each one into the larger overall picture of the arts and humanities
Online Art Books from the Met
Five decades of Met publications on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free.
Sculpture Magazine
Coverage of contemporary sculptural art – from features, interviews with artists, reviews of current shows and other art criticism, to thought-provoking essays.