The Oxford Companion to Beer by Garrett Oliver (Editor)
Call Number: REF TP 570 .O94 2012
The Oxford Companion to Beer is the first reference work to fully investigate the history and vast scope of beer, from the agricultural makeup of various beers to the technical elements of the brewing process, local effects of brewing on regions around the world, and social and political implications of sharing a beer. Entries not only define terms such as "spent grain" and "wort," but give fascinating details about how these and other ingredients affect a beer's taste, texture, and popularity.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Solomon H. Katz (Editor)
Call Number: GT 2850 .E53 2003
The defining subject of food and culture allows a broad selection of topics; readers will delight in the variety offered, which includes scientific, historic, and anthropologic topics. National foods are listed in entries for the country or region, which cover history, geography, people, types of food produced, and historic and current dishes. Popular dishes, particularly those of the West, are featured, as are a broad variety of food-related topics such as aversion to food, modern packaging, and hunger strikes.
World Food by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: TX 349 .S66 2013
This multicultural and interdisciplinary reference brings a fresh social and cultural perspective to the global history of food, foodstuffs, and cultural exchange from the age of discovery to contemporary times.
Encyclopedia of Pasta by Oretta Zanini De Vita
Call Number: TX 394.5 .Z35 2009
Pasta in its myriad forms has been a staple of the Mediterranean diet longer than bread. This beautiful volume is the first book to provide a complete history of pasta in Italy, telling its long story via the extravagant variety of shapes it takes and the even greater abundance of names by which it is known. Food scholar Oretta Zanini De Vita traveled to every corner of her native Italy, recording oral histories, delving into long-forgotten family cookbooks, and searching obscure archives to produce this rich and uniquely personal compendium of historical and geographical information.
Helpful Books & Videos
The Complete Beer Course by Joshua M. Bernstein
Call Number: TP 577 .B46 2013
The American Craft Beer Cookbook by John Holl
Call Number: TX 726.3 .H65 2013
Wine a Tasting Course by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; Marnie Old; Michael Mondavi (Foreword by)
Call Number: TP 548.5 .A5 O43 2014
North Carolina Craft Beer and Breweries by Erik Lars Myers
Call Number: TP 577 .M94 2012
In North Carolina Craft Beer & Breweries, Erik Lars Myers profiles over 50 brewpubs and breweries statewide, providing useful details like location and contact information, tour times and hours of operation, and the breweries regular lineups of beers and seasonal releases. Myers relates each brewery's history and the vision of its founders. Most importantly, he shares its story, showing how it offers something different or unique.
Brewing Yeast and Fermentation by David Quain; Chris Boulton
Call Number: TP 580 .B74 2006
This unique volume provides a definitive overview of modern and traditional brewing fermentation. Written by two experts with unrivaled experience from years with a leading international brewer, coverage includes all aspects of brewing fermentation together with the biochemistry, physiology and genetics of brewers' yeast. "Brewing Yeast and Fermentation" is unique in that brewing fermentation and yeast biotechnology are covered in detail from a commercial perspective.
The Practical Brewer: a manual for the brewing industry by John T. McCabe
Call Number: TP 570 .P69 1999
Written by industry experts, The Practical Brewer is regarded as a trade standard achieving worldwide acceptance as an outstanding basic training tool in the art and science of brewing. From proven practical procedures to recent innovative technologies, the book offers practical solutions to many everyday concerns.
Brew Like a Pro by Dave Miller
Call Number: TP 570 .M46 2012
Are you ready to take your homebrewing to the next level? In Brew Like a Pro, the legendary Dave Miller reveals the secrets of truly great draft- and pub-style brewing. He includes complete plans for a professional-quality home system that requires just 18 square feet of space, and he offers recipes for small batches of classic, all-grain brews that stay fresh in kegs for months, eliminating the need for bottling.
Short Course in Beer by Lynn Hoffman
Call Number: TP 570 .H64 2012
Far-ranging in scope and written with wit and charm, this guide provides a global perspective on one of the world's most ancient and popular beverages, including how it is made, how to serve and taste it, where to find the best, and what foods to serve with it. With tongue in cheek, the author examines beer's historic connections to the Crusades, the Hundred Years War, and modern-day soccer riots. He also candidly discusses the effects of alcohol on the body and the brain.
The Illustrated Guide to Brewing Beer by Michael Schaefer
Call Number: TP 577 .S33 2012
If you ve ever complained about a watery-tasting lager, wondered just what was causing that certain flavor in your favorite porter, or lamented the price of quality craft ale, then it might be time to try perfecting your own brew at home. Whether you re an established beer snob or just want to try your hand at homebrewing, The Illustrated Guide to Brewing Beer will teach you everything you need to know to get started in this increasingly popular hobby.
Clonebrews by Tess and Mark Szamatulski; Tess Szamatulski; Mark Szamatulski
Call Number: TP 577 .S985 2010
You can now brew beer at home that tastes just like your favorite brands with this collection of 150 "cloned" recipes for premium beers from around the world.
All 150 recipes come with separate extract, mini-mash, and all-grain instructions. You'll also find tips for replicating any commercial beer so you can make your own clones when you discover a new favorite!
Beer Lover's Companion by Josh Leventhal; George Wieser
Call Number: TP 577 .L482 1999
The book explains the differences among lagers, pilsners, stouts, bitters, wheat beers and porters--and examines the benefits and disadvantages of commercial breweries and micro-breweries, as well as tips on brewing beer at home. Notes on home brewing and brewing ingredients enhance drinking experience and beer knowledge. Tasting suggestions tell readers how to properly sample beers, and recipes suggest foods to match the different styles.