Finding Sources - ENG 111 - Callahan - LibGuides at Blue Ridge Community College

Where to Go First

Use the tabbed box below to learn about your topics and find sources.

Starting Point: These are good for learning more about your topic and developing your keywords. Remember, encyclopedias and dictionaries don't count as a credible source for your assignment. They are meant to get you started.

Best Bet Databases: These databases have articles and journals covering a variety of topics and should be some of our best options to help you with your research.

Database Tutorials: Need a refresher? Watch the tutorials on how to navigate Credo Reference and ProQuest Central in this tab.

Finding Credible Sources

Credo Reference

Credo’s Academic Core collection is a full-text database of reference ebooks, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri, handbooks, readers’ guides, atlases, primary source materials, and image and video collections, selected for academic researchers. With over six hundred titles covering the primary disciplines of Higher Education, Academic Core provides students with the reference tools they need to perform research at any level of study.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics handbook on labor outlook.

ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.
JSTOR

A mixture of full-text and abstract-only ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publications covering a variety of subjects and disciplines, especially within the humanities and social sciences.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Premier database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
HeinOnline Academic

An multidisciplinary research platform featuring historical records and modern-day publications. There are 42 databases included in our subscription. Subjects covered include history, education, psychology, ecology, political science, criminal justice, medicine, religion, economics, business, law, and more.
Psychology Database
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.
Education Database

Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, homeschooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

Blue Ridge username and password required for off-campus use.
US Newsstream
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

An introductory look at Credo Reference to help students get started on their research topic. Credo Reference is a database of encyclopedia materials and is a great starting point to get a better understanding of a topic.

This tutorial is for students in ENG 111 working on their Unit Project 2 assignment. We will look at one of our best bet databases, ProQuest Central, and go over how to use filters to narrow your results. The strategies covered in this video can be applied to various databases.